Saturday, 23 August 2014

A Red letter day for Blisworth Tunnel

L to R Dr Nigel Crowe, James Clifton (CRT)
Lady Judy and Sir William McAlpine
David Laing (LL of Northamptonshire)
Stuart Wilkinson (Chairman of the
Transport Trust) and Peter Stone
(Transport Trust)
The VIPs cutting the cake
Friday 22-August marked the 30th anniversary of the reopening of Blisworth tunnel following the repairs undertaken to fix the centre of the tunnel.  Friday 22-August was also the day (in 2014) when the Transport Trust awarded Blisworth tunnel a 'Red Wheel' in recognition of its historical importance and engineering excellence - it is, apparently only 1 metre out of 'straight'.

VIP guests were collected in Blisworth and brought through the tunnel courtesy of Stoke Bruerne Boat Company, to attended an unveiling presided over by the Lord Lieutenant of Northamptonshire, David Laing, the Hon Sir William McAlpine Bt (President of the Transport Trust) and Dr Nigel Crowe (CRT Head of Heritage).

A worthy recognition of the unbelievable achievements of those who built the tunnel some 209 years ago.  We were privileged to have, as our guests, three of those who were instrumental in rebuilding the tunnel 30 years ago.

No comments:

Post a comment